Leadership Team

Dr Shashi Tharoor

An author, politician, and former international civil servant, Dr. Shashi Tharoor is a second-term Lok Sabha Member of Parliament (MP) representing Thiruvananthapuram, and Chairman of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on External Affairs. He has previously served as Minister of State for Human Resource Development and for External Affairs in the Government of India. During his nearly three-decade long prior career at the United Nations, he served as a peacekeeper, refugee worker, and administrator at the highest levels, serving as Under-Secretary General during Kofi Annan’s leadership of the organisation. Dr. Tharoor is also an author of sixteen books of both fiction as well as non-fiction. He is also a recipient of several awards that include a Commonwealth Writers’ Prize and the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman, India’s highest honour for overseas nationals.

Milind Deora
Dy. Chairman and Regional Coordinator – West Zone

Milind Deora was one of India’s youngest union ministers, overseeing the departments of Telecommunications, IT, Shipping and Ports. He was first elected to India’s Lok Sabha (Parliament) from Mumbai in 2004 at the age of 27. Prior to entering politics, Milind worked in the private sector in the United States and India and setup one of India’s first digital public-private partnerships to provide economically underprivileged students free access to Information Technology-enabled education. Milind remains an important national voice and harbinger for transformational change. During his active political career, Milind spearheaded several important issues, including the historic Right to Information law and e-Governance. Millions of his constituents continue to benefit from his social programs in affordable healthcare, community sports and digital literacy.

E-mail : milind.deora@professionalscongress.com

Maharashtra, Gujarat, Rajasthan, Dadra-Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Madhya Pradesh

Gaurav Gogoi
Regional Coordinator – East Zone

Shri Gaurav Gogoi is currently serving as a Member of Parliament representing the Kaliabor constituency of Assam in the Lok Sabha. He is a member of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Defence and Violation of Protocol Norms. MP Gogoi is currently also serving as the National Spokesperson of All India Congress Committee. Prior to joining politics, MP Gogoi worked in the development and non profit sector for ten years. After graduation in engineering from Indraprastha University, he worked in a non profit which seeks to impact social justice through youth citizenship action. After four years of working in rural India, he went to pursue his masters in public administration from New York University. During his stint in the U.S, MP Gogoi worked as a policy aide at the Permanent Mission of India to the U.N.

E-mail : gauravgogoi@professionalscongress.com

Chhattisgarh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Jharkhand, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Orissa, West Bengal, Tripura, Sikkim

Salman Anees Soz
Regional Coordinator – North Zone

Mr. Salman Anees Soz is an international development expert and economic commentator. He is a former World Bank Group officer with experience across a range of economic development issues in countries around the world. He is also a political and social activist associated with the Indian National Congress. Mr. Soz serves as a National Media Panelist of the Congress Party. His professional interests include emerging market economics, political economy, and South Asian politics. His opinion columns appear in major media outlets. He is also a contributor to the Hudson Institute, a Washington, D.C. think-tank. Mr. Soz serves as a consultant for the World Bank Group and is a recipient of the institution’s “President’s Award for Excellence”.

E-mail : salmansoz@professionalscongress.com

Delhi, Chandigarh, Haryana, Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Uttarakhand

Dr Geeta Reddy
Regional Coordinator – South Zone

Dr. Geeta Reddy is an accomplished medical professional and senior politician hailing from erstwhile Andhra Pradesh and current Telangana. She has served multiple terms as an MLA and Minister with cabinet rank in the Andhra State government. During her term as the cabinet minister for Major Industries, she was instrumental in the setting up of a Mahindra and Mahindra tractor plant in her constituency (Zahirabad) which is the largest of its kind in Asia. She also played a key role in bringing a NIMZ (National Investment and Manufacturing Zone) unit to Zahirabad – Telangana which will not only led to creation of lakhs of jobs but also stimulate local development. She also worked closely with the then Chief Minister of undivided Andhra Pradesh to setup the ‘Sri City’ project which has become a model manufacturing hub today.

Presently, Dr. Reddy is serving as an MLA from Zahirabad constituency in Telangana and the Chairperson of the Public Accounts Committee in the Telangana Legislative Assembly.

Dr. Geeta Reddy is also a well-recognized philanthropist, holding numerous Directorships and board-level positions in a number of organizations dedicated to social welfare in areas ranging from Child Welfare, Sports to Academia.

E-mail : drjgeetareddy@professionalscongress.com

Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Karnataka, Kerala, Puducherry, Tamil Nadu, Andaman and Nicobar, Goa, Lakshadweep